The Why of VIM

vim.moolenaar.vimlogo

I cannot tell you exactly why, but I switched from using primarily Epsilon www.lugaru.com, to vim http://www.vim.org/. Epsilon is a great text editor, which is derived from Emacs and has a C-like scripting language. I heartily recommend it.

vim is an open source programmer’s editor derived from vi, one of, if not, the first screen oriented editors for Unix. vim is the default editor found on most Linux distributions. Basically on Linux systems, I do enough configuration file editing as root to warrant learning more about vim, to increase my productivity. So there. Maybe that is the reason I switched, or I wanted to learn more about something I had been using.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

