Explaining Personal Medallions

I speak of personal medallions often. I first heard this line in
Francois Truffaut's 1966 movie Fahrenheit 451, starring
Julie Christie, Oscar Werner, and Cyril Cusack. I have never
forgotten the personal medallion reference.

Unable to find a film clip of the conversations involving
personal medallions, here is the dialog is from the script.
The Captain, played by Cyril Cusack, is speaking to a junior
fireman, Montag, played by Oscar Werner, who is about to get a
promotion. 

I found this an important point in the film, because towards
the end, a nearly identical dialog takes place,
in which Montag answers honestly but not in his best interests.

The Captain:
Have you seen my personal medallion? It's a remarkable likeness.
You must remind me to let you have one sometime.

Towards the end of the film, the dialog changes slightly.

The Captain:
Yes, you're a good man. Remind me to give you one of my
personal medallions. The likeness is remarkable. You'll see.

Montag:
I, uh... 

The Captain:
You, uh...

Montag:
I already have one, sir.

I'm fascinated by the notion of what we have in the past and
currently use as our "coat of arms", emblem or otherwise
that which identifies us.
3 Comments

Filed under Persons of Note

3 responses to “Explaining Personal Medallions

  1. S Moore

    that was not an interaction between him and Montag.. He was talking to another fireman

    • Octopusgrabbus

      I haven’t seen the movie in a long time, but the second time the question gets asks Montag says he already has one [a medallion].

  2. Thanks for the info! I knew you were referencing Fahrenheit 451, but I didn’t make the connection. 🙂

Leave a Reply

