9/11/2001

Nine years ago today, I was driving to North Beverly, MA to my intern shift at an FM radio station. While I was still on the road, my wife called me, and said turn on the radio. It was just after the first of two airliners hit World Trade Center in NYC.

At ours and many other radio stations, traditional programming was all but suspended, and most of the morning was spent updating listeners with the latest news and discussing what had happened. One of our morning team members was with his family in Bermuda, and it would be many days before he would be allowed to fly from Bermuda back to Boston.

It was a terrible day and one I will remember the rest of my life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

