Paul Simon, Take a Bow

I grew up with Paul Simon’s music and loved listening to Simon and Garfunkel. Like many of my friends, I waited impatiently for the Bookends album after seeing the movie The Graduate because Bookends contained the full version of Mrs. Robinson. I was bummed when the duo split up, and was very glad when Paul’s first solo album was released. Listening to it kept me sane during my first year of college.

Recently Paul Simon was giving a concert in Toronto, and invited a young woman, Rayna Ford, on stage to play and sing Duncan, a song I believe is from his first solo album. She told him she had learned to play the guitar by learning to play Duncan. Here is the link:

http://www.veryshortlist.com/vsl/daily.cfm/review/1870/Web_video/duncan/?vp

To me Paul is a true star. He has had such great celebrity and has been writing and performing for so long that now he’s bigger than he was, because he just is. Anyone who can share the stage with a fan is great in my book.

3 Comments

Filed under Persons of Note

3 responses to “Paul Simon, Take a Bow

  1. Saw your comment about Slaughterhouse-Five at “Letters of Note.” I’m blogging about being Vonnegut’s biographer at http://www.writingkurtvonnegut if you’re a Vonnegutian!

    Best,

    Charles J. Shields
    And So It Goes: Kurt Vonnegut, A Life (Holt, November 2011)

  2. Wow – I’d be so nervous to get up there with Paul Simon! Not that I can play or sing or anything. But I’m pretty sure I have good tambourine skills.

    The soundtrack from Mrs. Robinson was soooooo fabulous.

Leave a Reply

