What’s With Python Decorators?

Nearly four years ago, I started learning a new language, Python, because I felt that as a newer language it would make sense to use it as the implementation language for a water endpoint/meter configuration and reads store and forward system. That reason extended to someone needing to maintain the system after I was gone. Using Python alone did not make the application’s modules easier to maintain, but I give some credit to the language for it.

Of all things in Python that are visually difficult for me to comprehend are decorators. I have never used one or did not know I needed to. If I were using Python on a more regular basis, like when I was designing and implementing the system, I would just decide to conquer this subject once and for all. However, one thing I have learned over the years is to be suspicious of overly complicated things that perhaps should not be, and I leave decorators there. I could have missed it, but I was not able to find a description of decorators in Mark Pilgrim’s Dive Into Python.

Perhaps I will find that post out there that just puts it all together for me, but so far, I just see confusion where decorators are concerned.

Epilogue:

I try never to give up, so this tutorial is a good start.

Leave a comment