Cleaning up Perl Programs

I don’t know why, but my Perl programs have always seemed to lend themselves to lengthiness over brevity. That is not the fault of Perl itself. Part of my problem is [re-]learning a new language again for the first time, and keeping all the code in one place for easier debugging, and part of it is I am only just seeing what could be possible in the ability to use both array and hash references.

For example, like variables could be created in a subroutine and returned as part of a  hash ref or array ref. Variables can be declared as needed, something I do not remember as part of Perl, when I used it thirteen and ten years ago, respectively.

As I write several new programs for new rate structure and quarterly water billing, the code will get cleaner.

Leave a comment

Filed under Perl

Leave a Reply

